Honorary Members and Fellows

Honorary Membership was the highest honour the Institution could bestow. The equivalent award today is Honorary Fellowship. The list of Honorary Members and Fellows includes :

1857 Thomas Cochrane, Earl of Dundonald

James Walker

James Prescott Joule
1859 Charles Piazzi Smyth

William Fairbairn
1859 William Thomson, Lord Kelvin

Rudolf Clausius

General Arthur Morin

Joseph Whitworth

Archibald Smith

Lewis Dunbar Brodie Gordon

John Tyndall

The Duke of Sutherland
1884 William Armstrong, Lord Armstrong

Hermann von Helmholtz

Robert Angus Smith
1891 Thomas Brassey, 1st Earl Brassey
1891 Sir Henry Bessemer
1891 Archibald Campbell, 1st Baron Blythswood
1891 Sir Alexander Blackie William Kennedy
1891 Sir Digby Murray
1894 Sir William Henry White
1896 Sir A J Durston
1897 R E Froude

Nicholas Wood

Archibald Smith
1907 John Campbell, 9th Duke of Argyll

Sir Harold Yarrow

Percy Hillhouse, John Elder Professor of Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering, Glasgow

James Foster King

Professor Alexander Lawson Mellanby

Arthur James Balfour (Earl of Balfour)

Alfred Charles Gardner

Sir James Lithgow

Rear Admiral David Watson Taylor (US Navy)

Sir Eric Yarrow
2004 Sir Robert Easton
2004 Thomas Orr Leith
2012 Sir John Parker
2013 Douglas Anderson
2013 Hugh Gill
2014 Thomas Graham Brown
2015 Stanley Douglas Tweddle
2015 Sir Donald Miller
2016 James Goodfellow
2016 Sir Duncan Michael
2016 Susan Scurlock
2017 Craig Clark
2018 Naeem Hussain

With thanks to Stuart D Cameron for researching these details.

TO CITE THIS PAGE: MLA style: "IESIS". Date of viewing.